Guidelines

Last Resort, Pine Court, Links Estate, Grouville, Jersey, JE3 9DB | Directions
Description
  • Language Tuition
  • Competitive Rates
  • Tuition At Home
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Portuguese

About Me and My Work

Hello, my name is Martin Postlethwaite and I have been working in language tuition with adults and teenagers since 1993. I am unsurprisingly fluent in English and maybe surprisingly a very good French and Spanish speaker. I also have a fair knowledge of Portuguese and Italian.

EFL (English as a Foreign Language) Tuition:  This is currently my main area of work and one where I qualified with a Trinity TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) Certificate in 1993 and added the Diploma in 2012. I have worked across the range from basic literacy skills for non-native speakers in Jersey to Cambridge Proficiency (Level C2).

Other than working in Switzerland on a two-month placement, I have taught here on the island. My main contract since 2007 has been with St Brelade's College  www.st-brelades-college.co.uk where as well as teach, I have also acted as a mentor for trainee teachers studying for their Trinity TESOL Certificate.

In a freelance capacity, I also teach lessons via Skype and work at the Adult Education College in Jersey www.highlands.ac.uk where I am currently teaching a Cambridge PET (Preliminary English Test) (Level B1) course and an elementary ESOL course.

French and Spanish Tuition: I studied these two subjects at London South Bank University www.lsbu.ac.uk (or Polytechnic as it was then). This is a side of my work done on the island and involves me travelling to students' homes to give assistance with their school/exam work.